Incorrect temperatures being reported?

Topics: 4. Bugs
Sep 3, 2016 at 1:21 PM
First, a big THUMBS UP for a great application! I am pretty new to Raspberry pi's and all, and was looking for a more reliable way of uploading PV data to PVOutput from my Sunnyboy 4000TL-20, than a rather flaky Android app. This one works, straight out of the box! I followed the instructions CAREFULLY, and all is fine - thanks again.

As I learn more about python and sqlite, I intend to write some routines to display live data on an LCD panel, remote to the inverter.

However, I notice that the inverter temperature readings are suspect... figures start at around 50C at first light (ambient is around 22C at this time), and rise/fall gently over the solar day. The Andoid app I had showed the same error. I am pretty sure that the inverter itself is OK, it only fires up the variable speed fan when it needs to. So maybe it's not a problem with the application, but a data definition error? I see some similar and other wierd figures reported in others' data on PVOutput. My system there is WILKINS_WATTS

Any ideas?
Coordinator
Sep 5, 2016 at 11:28 AM
I have the exact same inverter, temperature is starting around 35C going up to 65C max. I never heard the fan running until now (except when I turned it on manually)
SBFspot gets the internal temperature of the inverter, that's all I can say about it. Unfortunately we can't compare it with SMA's Sunny Explorer as it lacks the temperature.
Sep 5, 2016 at 4:21 PM
Hi, thanks for your reply. Hmm, even your initial temperature of 35C seems too high! (unless your inverter is in a VERY warm room?). Though I can believe a high temperature of around 65C. Looking at the other temps in the PVOutput SBFSpot group, they are all over the place, even for the same inverter. Maybe the data simply isn't that reliable?
Sep 7, 2016 at 9:15 PM
Edited Sep 9, 2016 at 11:51 AM
hej laurence and sbf,